Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi guys! Welcome to my first beauty related post. Yay!! As mentioned last week, every Tuesday will be dedicated to beauty. It may be a review, haul, first impression, or demo. It’s all in the works, even I don’t know what will be on next weeks post. 🙂 For my first post, I will share the products that I used the most during the month of May. There aren’t many products because, well, it was hot and humid as hell and the thought of a full face of makeup freaks me out. As for hair, humidity isn’t my best friend. I have unruly, sometimes well behaved, curly hair, so my go-to hair style was a side braid. That’s my first favorite for the month of May, the side braid. So without further ado, let’s get on with it, no? 🙂

1) The Side Braid
Although it seems to be quite simple, this braid really helped me out during those horrible humid driven days. My hair tends to look like a sprawled out loofa when the humidity meter rises and so the only solution is to put my hair up. I could have put it in a bun or ponytail but that usually makes the baby hairs on the top of my head pop right up and look all fuzzy and if I put it in a ponytail, giirrrl, don’t even get me started on the poof fest on the back of my head. A girl with my kinky hair still has to look proper, no? My hairstyle of choice was the oh-so-famous, Katniss Everdeen meets Elsa’s side braid. It involves enough hair that my curly bits don’t have time poof up. If one or two curls do come loose, it doesn’t look funky, but intentional.

2) Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Leave-In Conditioning Cream
A holy grail in my hair care routine. As mentioned I have curly hair and it can be a nightmare sometimes…most of the time really. This saved my hair, dude! The cream hydrates my hair and tames my frizzy locks. I apply it after I shower, put my hair in some sort of braid(s) and in the morning, my hair is so much more manageable and soft. I reapply a bit more when styling my hair and then I’m done. I can definitely see a difference when I don’t use it.

3) Johnson’s No More Tangles
Need I say more. Doesn’t make me wince in pain, and it smells nice. It also makes my hair soft, unlike other products I’ve tried. Whoever invented this, thank you!! From the bottom if my most crazy looking curl, mil gracias, y como dice mi mamá, “que en la gloria esté tu alma”. 😉

4) Tarte Pure Maracuja Oil
I had been in the market for a nighttime face moisturizer and a friend recommended this product. I was a bit reserved because it was an oil and not a traditional cream. I tried it out and found that it absorbed quickly into the skin, had a light scent so it wasn’t bothersome, and within a couple of nights of using it, I saw a definite improvement on my skin. It got rid of minor breakouts, smoothed the overall appearance of my skin, and didn’t make my face oily overnight. It worked pretty darn good. Who knew that three little drops (amount recommended on bottle) would do so much for your face.

5) Milani Liquid Eye Eyeliner Pencil in Brown
This has become a staple in my small collection of eyeliners. No one should be at the mercy of a fading, creasing, and or runny eyeliner. The raccoon look isn’t and will never be popular (at least I hope not). I have been using this pencil eyeliner to wing my eyeliner just a bit and I must say, that it doesn’t slide off my eyelids and onto my cheeks nor does it melt and transfer onto the top part of my eyelid. If you apply it straight from the pencil, O-M-G! it applies so smooth. I apply it using an angled eyeliner brush which makes it easier for me to apply the liner since I am a novice after all. 😉 Bottom line, once it dries, it doesn’t smudge, won’t melt off your eyelids, super easy to apply, and it won’t make you look like a raccoon.

6) Dior Creme Abricot Nail Cream
This is mostly a nail art blog darn it, so I have to include this little puppy in here. This nail cream is the bom-diggity of cuticle moisturizers (in my mind anyway). I’ve tried many, and I mean, MANY cuticle oils, creams, lotions, butters, and magical dust out there to help moisturize my cuticles and hands, and although some have come close, none have come remotely close to repairing my nail beds quite like this fellow. I massage it onto my cuticles right before I go to bed and in the morning, my cuticles look and feel soo nice. I love that a little goes a long way, as it should for what I pay for it. This puppy is a whopping $25 a jar. I know what you’re thinking, “WTF are you doing buying a $25 cuticle cream you nut?!” I know. Trust me. I give myself the face too but this cream really helps out and is a life saver. I don’t use it every night, but when the calluses around my nails start forming and drying up like crazy, this helps my nails and cuticles come back to life. My mom’s hands get really dry and her skin cracks really bad, so when I give her a manicure, I always make sure to apply a little dollop of this all over her hands, and the next day, her hands are way softer and moisturized. Luckily for me, I don’t purchase it very often. In fact, over the past 6 years, I’ve repurchased it only twice. Like I said, a little goes a long way. This Christian fellow really knows how to make a cuticle cream.

Well, that’s it! Those were my May beauty favorites. I hope you enjoyed reading my post!  I’d love to know about your favorite beauty products. See you on tomorrow’s post!

Marisol

